Thideology News of the Day

American Idol

I have long maintained that the most prominent idol in America is America. I freely admit that I was once the greatest offender, having a love of country that far exceeded my love for God, His Word, or His Son. God revealed my sin to me and I suspect it is because my eyes were opened to this particular sin in my own life that I so readily see it in the culture around me. But, I am greatly encouraged to know that I am not the only one. Laurance Vance has been pointing out this particular sin for longer than I have. Today he offers a little self test for those who wonder if they love their country more than they love God. Warning: You may be offended — which brings us to another matter…

The Truth is Offensive

The “Weekly Dose of Spurgeon,” a regular feature on the Pyromaniacs blog, points out that the truth is frequently offensive. But please note, Spurgeon points out that the offensive nature of His message never prevented Jesus from proclaiming the truth. After all, the Gospel, itself, is highly, highly offensive.

About Chip
Chip is a graduate of Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, AR and Mid-America Baptist Theological Seminary in Memphis, TN. He served more than five years on the staff of the State Convention of Baptists in Indiana as Director of Communications and Public Relations, editor of the Indiana Baptist newsjournal, and regular contributor to the Baptist Press, the official news service of the Southern Baptist Convention. He currently earns his living as a writer. He serves his local church as a teacher and deacon and his local Baptist Association as a Seminary Extension instructor and supply preacher.

4 Responses to Thideology News of the Day

  1. Rita Presser says:

    Chip, thank you for your work, your site, and your Truth! I work with your Mom and Dad and am currently working full-time and going to Seminary full-time at Midwestern BTS in their 100% on-line Master of Arts in Theological Studies with a Mission Emphasis. I am currently in my 7th of 8 weeks of Apologetics. I will then begin Intro to Orality and Oral Cultures. My name is Rita P., by the way. I do, however, appreciate our troops. They are following orders. I may not agree with why our troops are overseas, but I do support them because they are doing their jobs and following orders. Just as police, fire and rescue put their lives on the line every day they go to work, to do our military. That is NOT to say what they are doing in any way surpasses what Christ has already done for us on the cross 2000+ years ago. Praise God!!!

  2. Chip says:

    Rita,

    Thanks so much for commenting. It’s always great to hear from readers, especially if there is a “family connection.” I would, however, like to respond to one aspect of your comment. You said that you “appreciate our troops” — even though you may not agree with why they are overseas — because they are just “doing their jobs and following orders.” I’d like to point out that following orders is not, in and of itself, a virtue. Following orders is only virtuous if the orders themselves are virtuous. Consider the following…

    The Nazi soldiers who invaded Czechoslovakia and Poland were just “doing their jobs and following orders.” Would you excuse a German citizen who said he supported those troops even though he did not agree with why they were in Czechoslovakia and Poland? After all, what is “supporting the troops” if not an implicit support for their mission? Likewise, a soldier who allows himself to be the instrument of force in an unjust mission is just as culpable as those who initiated the unjust mission. The Nazi soldiers would not be justified by saying, “It wasn’t our idea to invade these countries, we just did what we were told.” In the end, those soldiers were the very ones who did the invading. They were the ones who actually pulled the trigger and killed people.

    This is an extreme example, I know. But I use it to illustrate my point. When we say we support the troops or the government we need to consider the full import of that statement. Are we, by implication, giving our consent to the very actions we oppose?

    My view on the whole subject is probably best explained by an article written by Dr. David Allen Black, a professor of New Testament and Greek at Southeastern Seminary. Here is the link to his article…

    http://www.daveblackonline.com/christians_without_borders.htm

    Thanks, again, for taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it. Feel free to comment any time — especially if you disagree.

    Tell my parents I said, “hi.”

    • Rita Presser says:

      Chip,

      Thank you for your reply to my reply. I guess I should have made myself a little more clear. I do not support troops that are killing innocent women and children. Simply following orders because they are orders; it is the duty of a soldier to question unjust orders, even if it lands him in “the brig.” These soldiers cannot be like sheep just blindly following without thinking.

      I agree with your extreme example. I do not believe the Nazis were right in the anihilation of 6 million Jews and others, but I do believe the those who followed Hitler were brainwashed. My father was born in Munich in 1936, so he lived through the WWII. When WE, Americans, were bombing Munich, my Oma sent my father to the country to live with an aunt. My father has been in the US since he was 19 and is a naturalized citizen. WAY back in grade school, when we had show-n-tell, I brought in an Edielweis; many of the children in my school started calling me a Nazi because I told them of my heritage. (But I digress.)

  3. Chip says:

    Rita,

    Your comments about Germans being brainwashed by Nazi propaganda are right on the money. The Nazi leaders knew they would not have popular support if they just announced their intentions to invade Czechoslovakia and Poland. They had to find a way to justify it to the people.

    In the case of Poland the Nazis launched a “false flag” operation. They sent Nazi soldiers (posing as Poles) to attack a German radio station in Gleiwitz. This is how they gained popular support. The people felt justified in retaliating against the Poles, whom they thought had attacked them.

    In the case of Czechoslovakia, Hitler claimed the ethnic German population living in the northern and western regions of Czechoslovakia was suffering privations at the hands of the Czechs. He claimed the Germans were going in on a humanitarian mission to help their ethnic brethren. The average German soldier marched into Czechoslovakia under the illusion that he was a liberator.

    All of this really strikes at the heart of my original post. Kings and countries have always lied about their true intentions in order to gain support for their imperialism. The list of countries guilty of this is as long as history itself.

    The point I’m trying to make with much of what I write about American idolatry is that our country is not immune to the same sinful influences. I take no more pride in being an American than Paul took in being a citizen of Rome. America is merely my earthly context. It is my mission field. Paul’s entire identity was in Christ Jesus. He was a slave to our Lord with no competing allegiances. I pray God will grant me that same attitude. And, in my posts about idolizing America, I invite other believers to join me.

Leave a Reply

